Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Long Arm Quilters (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/long-arm-quilters-t191416.html)

wvhill22 06-11-2012 02:37 AM

Long Arm Quilters

Since you have probably done both. Do you find it is easier steering your machine to FMQ quilt on a long arm or steering your fabric on a regular machine

QuiltnNan 06-11-2012 02:42 AM

i find it much easier to steer the machine. personally, i'm not very good at moving the fabric. and my hands and arms get tired trying to move the fabric. the downside of moving the machine is that the setup takes up soooo much room!

PaperPrincess 06-11-2012 03:52 AM

Good question, as for me they are definately two different motions. I am better moving the machine. It's more like writing/drawing with a pencil.

lfletcher 06-11-2012 04:20 AM

I find it much easier to steer the machine with the exception of Stitch in the Ditch. SID is easier on my domestic machine.

Toni C 06-11-2012 04:21 AM

machine. you still have to practice like crazy for both. Now, I don't have one of those sit down 'long arm' models I used to try on domestic sewing machine. So if your asking that sorry

feline fanatic 06-11-2012 04:59 AM

For me MUCH easier to steer the machine. Straight line quilting is easier on a domestic though, especially all over crosshatch grid.

BKrenning 06-11-2012 05:08 AM

Originally Posted by QuiltnNan (Post 5280505)
i find it much easier to steer the machine. personally, i'm not very good at moving the fabric. and my hands and arms get tired trying to move the fabric. the downside of moving the machine is that the setup takes up soooo much room!