Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Long Arm Quilters >

Long Arm Quilters

Long Arm Quilters

Old 06-11-2012, 02:37 AM

Default Long Arm Quilters

Since you have probably done both. Do you find it is easier steering your machine to FMQ quilt on a long arm or steering your fabric on a regular machine
Old 06-11-2012, 02:42 AM
Power Poster

i find it much easier to steer the machine. personally, i'm not very good at moving the fabric. and my hands and arms get tired trying to move the fabric. the downside of moving the machine is that the setup takes up soooo much room!
Old 06-11-2012, 03:52 AM
Power Poster

Good question, as for me they are definately two different motions. I am better moving the machine. It's more like writing/drawing with a pencil.
Old 06-11-2012, 04:20 AM

I find it much easier to steer the machine with the exception of Stitch in the Ditch. SID is easier on my domestic machine.
Old 06-11-2012, 04:21 AM

machine. you still have to practice like crazy for both. Now, I don't have one of those sit down 'long arm' models I used to try on domestic sewing machine. So if your asking that sorry
Old 06-11-2012, 04:59 AM
Power Poster

For me MUCH easier to steer the machine. Straight line quilting is easier on a domestic though, especially all over crosshatch grid.
Old 06-11-2012, 05:08 AM

Originally Posted by QuiltnNan View Post
i find it much easier to steer the machine. personally, i'm not very good at moving the fabric. and my hands and arms get tired trying to move the fabric. the downside of moving the machine is that the setup takes up soooo much room!
Ditto for me. It's also very tiring to try and shove anything larger than a crib size through the throat of a domestic machine--even the larger ones. I bought a frame & 9" throat machine after quilting 2 baby quilts & a throw size using the sit & quilt method. My shoulders just couldn't take it.
Old 06-11-2012, 05:18 AM