Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   military uniforms (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/military-uniforms-t280567.html)

luana 07-19-2016 05:47 AM

military uniforms

I have been Googling for a long time and can not find a definitive answer to this question.
Can military uniforms be cut up and used in a quilt? Can insignias be incorporated in a quilt?
Thank you for any help on this question.

sewbizgirl 07-19-2016 05:52 AM

Yes, just about anything can be made into a quilt if you are willing to work with it.

riutzelj 07-19-2016 05:55 AM

There is nothing sacrosanct about the uniforms unlike the American flag itself. As a veteran, i'd suggest that medals, and combat ribbons would only be appropriate in a wall quilt honoring the person's service but that the insignia of rank and time served could be used in a more general quilt.

ManiacQuilter2 07-19-2016 06:04 AM

When my Dad came back from WWII, he didn't want to see his uniform again. His mother's sister (who taught me how to quilt) cut it up and used it in a braided rug that I believe is still in the small living room (since the farm probably is being farmed by their grandchildren).

quiltingshorttimer 07-19-2016 07:09 PM

Yes, I have 2 quilt buddies that made quilts from grandson and son's uni's--both said it was a chore--they ripped out the seams (which are sewn in a way that never come apart!), cut and then piece and they did incorporate some insigna--both were for wall hangings. One said that the fabric for the uni's is very "durable" and little harder to cut. But both made some awesome quilts.

jjs56 07-20-2016 03:00 AM

Originally Posted by riutzelj (Post 7605505)