Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Need size of quilt "brick" (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/need-size-quilt-brick-t222819.html)

LavenderBlue 06-02-2013 10:01 AM

Need size of quilt "brick"

What is the TYPICAL size of a quilt brick? I have seen patterns online with varied sizes such as 4" X 7". Isn't 3 1/2" X 6 1/2" the standard? THX for the help. :o

Jan in VA 06-02-2013 10:08 AM

I've been quilting for over 30 years and in my experience the only "standards" in quilting are the 1/4" seam allowance and approximate sizes of batting.

I'd say your brick can be any size that works for *you*.:)

Jan in VA

Boston1954 06-02-2013 10:09 AM

If it looks "bricklike", you can go with it. Whatever size pleases your eyes.

LTeachergeorge 06-02-2013 10:14 AM

I think the size of "bricks" is typically the size of two squares (of whatever size you want -- this would be the width of your brick) sewn together. In other words, double the size of your square and subtract 1/2 inch (to account for the seam). The advantage to doing it this way is that you can stagger the bricks or put squares in between, etc. I have used 3-1/2 inch by 6-1/2 inch bricks several times. I really like that size as it goes fast, but has lots of variety (I did scrap quilts). Good luck with your project!

Linda in Missouri

LTeachergeorge 06-02-2013 10:15 AM

I think the size of "bricks" is typically the size of two squares (of whatever size you want -- this would be the width of your brick) sewn together. In other words, double the size of your square and subtract 1/2 inch (to account for the seam). The advantage to doing it this way is that you can stagger the bricks or put squares in between, etc. I have used 3-1/2 inch by 6-1/2 inch bricks several times. I really like that size as it goes fast, but has lots of variety (I did scrap quilts). Good luck with your project! Linda in Missouri