Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Need size of quilt "brick"

Need size of quilt "brick"

What is the TYPICAL size of a quilt brick? I have seen patterns online with varied sizes such as 4" X 7". Isn't 3 1/2" X 6 1/2" the standard? THX for the help.

Piedmont Virginia in the Foothills of the Blue Ridge Mtns.
    I've been quilting for over 30 years and in my experience the only "standards" in quilting are the 1/4" seam allowance and approximate sizes of batting.

I'd say your brick can be any size that works for *you*.

Jan in VA
    Jan in VA
    Living in the foothills
    peacefully colors my world.
    http://www.quiltingboard.com/members...bums19552.html

If it looks "bricklike", you can go with it. Whatever size pleases your eyes.
    Life is not a movie. No one is going to yell "CUT" when you make a mistake. - Anne L. Fulton

I am from the South....39 miles south of Boston.

I think the size of "bricks" is typically the size of two squares (of whatever size you want -- this would be the width of your brick) sewn together. In other words, double the size of your square and subtract 1/2 inch (to account for the seam). The advantage to doing it this way is that you can stagger the bricks or put squares in between, etc. I have used 3-1/2 inch by 6-1/2 inch bricks several times. I really like that size as it goes fast, but has lots of variety (I did scrap quilts). Good luck with your project!

Linda in Missouri