Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Newbie problem (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/newbie-problem-t187020.html)

auntiem 04-24-2012 03:32 AM

Newbie problem

Hi, I'm a newbie here and to quilting, but already need help. I have a Baby Lock Quest Plus which my DH gave me a few years ago for my BD---sweet man! I have sewn for 40+ years but never tried quilting before this year so am a total newbie at this. My problem is that when I start a 1/4" seam, my machine is feeding the fabric down into the needle hole on the plate, I am using the 1/4" quilting foot and the machine's PDQ system which should help with even feeding of the fabric. Any ideas on how to prevent this would be great and so appreciated. I don't want to get frustrated before I really get started, I'm sure there will be many better reasons to get frustrated down the road with this new undertaking! Thank you in advance for any help anyone can give me.

Wanabee Quiltin 04-24-2012 04:05 AM

Yes, I had this too. I read somewhere to take a small scrape of fabric and start sewing in the middle of the fabric and then keep on piecing your quilting fabric. It works everytime. I have a nice little basket on my desk and when I trim my blocks, whatever, I take those small pieces of fabric and put them in the basket for my start fabric. I know that Bonnie Hunter uses hers for making quilts, called Leaders and Enders. Look for her on the Internet on her blog.

auntiem 04-24-2012 04:15 AM

Thank you for the help, like most people, I should have no problem finding small pieces of fabric in my sewing room! I'll give it a try this afternoon. I'll check the Bonnie Hunter blog too, I'm always looking for quilting info/pictures/tutorials, especially tutorials!

jeemmerling621 04-24-2012 04:22 AM

Originally Posted by Wanabee Quiltin (Post 5165841)