Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   news paper quilt? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/news-paper-quilt-t28083.html)

Betty Sue 11-02-2009 07:16 PM

I'm a newbie. I hope this is right. I can remember my Grandmother And my mom talking about using newspaper. Kind of sewing strips of material to the paper. I'm not sure. Does anyone know about this. I do scrap quilts and she always told me about this but it was not very clear. :?:

isnthatodd 11-02-2009 07:29 PM

I have a spider web top that was done in the 1930s. The newspaper is still there and legible, which is how I know the date. I guess plain paper was scarce or expensive, so they used what they had on hand. If I get a chance tomorrow, I will add a picture of it.

Lisa_wanna_b_quilter 11-02-2009 07:57 PM

http://en.allexperts.com/q/Quilting-...-newspaper.htm

This little Q and A mentions it.

omak 11-02-2009 10:50 PM

I saw an episode on Simply QUilts about the newspaper quilts.
I learned that if you are going to use newspaper as your foundation to sew strips quilts, you must allow the newspapers to sit for at least two weeks ... apparently, it helps the ink to set and the oils to dissipate or something like that.

SulaBug 11-02-2009 11:46 PM

Hello there,
I just had my Mother, who is 85,
tell me that when she was young
she used pages out of a Look
magazine to sew her blocks on!! :D
Sure wish she still had a few of them.
:D :D :D :D :D

Scissor Queen 11-03-2009 06:54 AM

1 Attachment(s)

Originally Posted by Betty Sue
I'm a newbie. I hope this is right. I can remember my Grandmother And my mom talking about using newspaper. Kind of sewing strips of material to the paper. I'm not sure. Does anyone know about this. I do scrap quilts and she always told me about this but it was not very clear. :?: