Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Oiling a Jem Gold----Do you do it? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/oiling-jem-gold-do-you-do-t59611.html)

Joan 08-15-2010 09:29 PM

I have a little Janome Jem Gold. It is a great machine and I've been using it for almost three years. After reading and rereading the manual, I noted that there is no mention of ever oiling the machine. I have noticed a new sound like a squeak and it made me wonder whether "something" needed to be oiled.

Do you oil these new machines made of plastic and if so where? Do you do it yourself or take it into a sewing machine expert?

Any advice anyone has would be much appreciated! :-P

Sadiemae 08-15-2010 09:53 PM

Many of the new models are made so that we don't oil them, but are expected to take them to be serviced once a year. Most of mine you are supposed to oil the bobbin hook, but I don't know about your model. Janome is a brand I have never owned. Maybe someone will know for sure.

lalaland 08-15-2010 10:05 PM

No, you don't oil them. The only maintenance you can do is to keep the bobbin area clean of debris when you finish a project. If I'm sewing fleece or flannel, I clean the bobbin area 2 or 3 times while I'm working on the project, depending on the size of the project.

These little machines are computerized and have sensors that can really be missed up by the layman. I don't take my machines in to be serviced unless, like you, I hear a funny sound or something just isn't working right no matter what I do to try and correct it.

Annaquilts 08-15-2010 10:05 PM