Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Oiling a Jem Gold----Do you do it? >

Oiling a Jem Gold----Do you do it?

Oiling a Jem Gold----Do you do it?

Old 08-15-2010, 09:29 PM

I have a little Janome Jem Gold. It is a great machine and I've been using it for almost three years. After reading and rereading the manual, I noted that there is no mention of ever oiling the machine. I have noticed a new sound like a squeak and it made me wonder whether "something" needed to be oiled.

Do you oil these new machines made of plastic and if so where? Do you do it yourself or take it into a sewing machine expert?

Any advice anyone has would be much appreciated! :-P
Old 08-15-2010, 09:53 PM
Power Poster

Many of the new models are made so that we don't oil them, but are expected to take them to be serviced once a year. Most of mine you are supposed to oil the bobbin hook, but I don't know about your model. Janome is a brand I have never owned. Maybe someone will know for sure.
Old 08-15-2010, 10:05 PM

No, you don't oil them. The only maintenance you can do is to keep the bobbin area clean of debris when you finish a project. If I'm sewing fleece or flannel, I clean the bobbin area 2 or 3 times while I'm working on the project, depending on the size of the project.

These little machines are computerized and have sensors that can really be missed up by the layman. I don't take my machines in to be serviced unless, like you, I hear a funny sound or something just isn't working right no matter what I do to try and correct it.
Old 08-15-2010, 10:05 PM
Power Poster

We have one never oiled it and never took it in for service. I do oil the Janome 6500 like every couple of years. There is a little piece of felt or something in the center of where you install the bobbin on the Janome 6500. Hmm I'll check tomorrow if I see anything like that in the Janome Jem. I have 3 other friends that use the Jem as their main machine and they do not oil either.
Old 08-16-2010, 04:19 AM