Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Portable hand project to take on holiday? Help!! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/portable-hand-project-take-holiday-help-t191282.html)

Shabbychicsarah 06-09-2012 12:42 PM

Portable hand project to take on holiday? Help!!

[TABLE="class: tborder, width: 100%, align: center"]
<tbody>[TR]
[TD="class: alt1, bgcolor: #F5F5FF"]Hiya,

We are off on hols in 3 weeks and I'd like to take a small project to hand sew along with my knitting and embroidery.

I was thinking along the lines of English paper piecing, but am a bit bored of hexies.

I am a novice quilter - have done a few by machine and did some hexie fabric to cover a chair.

I wonder if you could point me in the direction of somewhere I can find patterns or ideas or perhaps you can suggest something?

[/TD]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]

gollytwo 06-09-2012 01:10 PM

I have 2 hand piecing prjects that I take along
1. Dresden Plate in 30s fabric - I rarely take it as have found I hate doing it (English PP)
2. Jo Morton's Snowballs in Harvest in repro fabrics - love this one
I also have been making a GFG for my grandson with family fabrics. It's to be a crib quilt. He turned 20 last Wednesday.
Maybe it'll get done in time for his first born.

kateyb 06-09-2012 01:15 PM

I have embroidered blocks I travel with. When they are all embroidered they will become a quilt. This might be a good time to find an easy applique project to do or make yoyos to use as embellishments. Yoyos with a button added make cute looking flowers. I use template plastic and cut out circles in different sizes and put scraps in a bag and take them along. Draw the circle with a pencil and cut out. My DH usually does most of the driving on trips. So I cut and stitch while he drives. Clotilde's has some plastic templates to make cloth flowers that might be fun for a three dimensional effect on a future quilt or bag.