Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Quilting patterns (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/quilting-patterns-t62181.html)

ragamuffin corner 08-30-2010 08:38 AM

I do not know how to quilt with my machine and I am also new at sewing quilts. Anyway, I purchased this sticky pattern paper for quilters. I tried it on a piece of fabric and it worked for the most part but it was awful pulling all these little pieces of paper that was left in the material.Has anyone else ever used this? Thanks in advance.
Fran

BKrenning 08-30-2010 09:22 AM

What exactly was the sticky pattern paper you bought? The only thing I can think of is pre-printed fusible interfacing (like Quilt Smart foundations) but that doesn't get removed and it doesn't really feel like paper.

franie 08-30-2010 09:25 AM

Was it paper piecing? Or was it that new stuff for quilting borders and such? There is a way to snap Thangles so it comes off easier but I don't know any other way than just tearing away the paper on the other. Usually we go down on the stitch length on the paper pieceing. It will be interesting to see furher comments.

ragamuffin corner 08-30-2010 10:00 AM

It is from a company called Quilting Made Easy. You follow the lines with sewing machine needle. It has tape on both sides of this pattern to hold down as you sew. But what a mess picking out all the little pieces of paper that did not come off when you finished following the lines and pulled the paper back off. It took me hours to pull these pieced out with a pair of tweezers.

ragamuffin corner 08-30-2010 10:02 AM

Oh my gosh! What is a Thangle? It is paper piercing I guess now that you say that. It is a roll of paper from a company called Quilting Made Easy.

ragamuffin corner 08-30-2010 10:03 AM

Boy, do I have alot to learn LOL
Fran from Fl

quiltlady37 08-30-2010 10:22 AM