Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Quilting Queston (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/quilting-queston-t3846.html)

Brenda Retzlaff 01-02-2008 06:08 AM

I have been working on a round bargello quilt since last March. I used a template and borders to make it queen + bed size. I moved the furniture and laid it out on my living room floor layering it into the quilt sandwich yesterday. I used tons of quliters safety pins to put it together. My thought is to hand quilt the round center....and machine quilt the rest. Has anyone done this and do you have any tips?

I'm still very new to quilting and this was a overly ambitious project..although I've learned a lot from it. I don't want to end up with wrinkles on the back . Any thoughts, suggestions, etc. would be appreciated.

Happy New Year to you all.

nanabirdmo 01-02-2008 06:56 AM

brenda,
i would sure love to see a picture of your quilt. sounds amazing.
i am not the best one to give quilting advice but when you were describing how you want to quilt it i was picturing the process. seems like you might want to check the back fairly often and plan to repin as needed to avoid wrinkles.
others are much more experienced with the quilting part than i. i'm sure you will get some good advice here.

Moonpi 01-02-2008 07:28 AM

Combining hand and machine quilting? Sure, I do it all the time. Boring, straight ditch stitching gets machined, and then I get to the fun stuff once the quilt is stable. I'm sure there are some who would do it opposite. Whatever works!

Sounds pretty!

Cathe 01-02-2008 08:18 AM

Sure! Just try to keep the overall density that same - if you quilt closely in one area, do the same over the rest of it. Quilting causes a quilt to shrink up - the more you quilt, the more it puckers. This is not a problem unless you quilt heavily in one area and not so much in another.

Brenda Retzlaff 01-03-2008 05:32 AM