Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Sewing machine question (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/sewing-machine-question-t251638.html)

Loves Sewing 08-10-2014 10:54 AM

Sewing machine question

I have been quilting for several years and am currently using a Brother Project Runway machine. I am thinking about upgrading and want to learn free motion quilting. What are your favorite domestic sewing machine for general piecing and free motion? I am not interested in a long arm machine.

Thanks so much for any suggestions.

Nammie to 7 08-10-2014 10:57 AM

You will get raves for every brand! You need to decide what features are important to you and what you are willing to spend. Try out various machines at local shops and find the one that fits you the best. Personally I have the Bernina 830 which has a big harp and does embroidery. It is not a machine for everyone though.

Cybrarian 08-10-2014 11:05 AM

Do you like your Brother? If so there are many Brother owners here that I'm sure will have excellent recommendations for you. I have a Babylock Unity which I absolutely love, it does embroidery as well as piecing and free motion. My smaller machine is a Babylock Elizabeth which is great for piecing and free motion quilting. Love, love, love my Babies!

Jeanne S 08-10-2014 11:34 AM

Love my Juki TL2010q, only does straight stitching but is a very reliable, powerful workhorse!

Pennyhal 08-10-2014 11:37 AM

I think most new machines have some common features such as feed dogs down, and needle down functions. For free motion quilting I'd be looking for features such as how much room is in the throat of the machine. How big is the sewing platform. How good is the lighting. Can the presser foot be raised or lowered by using the foot pedal. Does it have a special foot for free motion.