Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Single-fold binding--need advice. (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/single-fold-binding-need-advice-t255478.html)

CraftyRN 10-18-2014 12:26 PM

Single-fold binding--need advice.

I treated myself to the Simplicity Bias and Piping Machine, and I just started playing with it today. I had NOT realized that the binding it makes is single fold (both outside edges folded in to the middle). It's great binding, but I'm not sure how to attach it to a quilt. I'm used to folding a 2-1/2 inch strip in half, sewing the raw edge to the quilt then folding over and sewing the back down.

The tip that comes with the machine only allows for 2" wide strips, resulting in 1" binding. That might be okay for now, especially as my current project is a small-ish wall hanging. BUT..... I still don't know how to attach it. No amount of You-tube-ing showed me that. :thumbdown:

Anybody help me out? Pretty please?

MaryMo 10-18-2014 12:30 PM

I would be interested in seeing what people have to say too. I thought about that machine but wondered how much I would use it.

PaperPrincess 10-18-2014 01:36 PM

When I applied purchased pre made binding tape, I just opened it up and used the fold line as a sewing guide. Basically aligned the raw edge of the tape and the item, sewed on the fold, folded it over & attached the back by hand. The portion of the back was easy to apply because it was already folded & pressed. Probably not as durable as the doubled, but for light duty items it should hold up OK. I think they do make tips for quilt bindings.
http://www.simplicity.com/p-4156-1-1...-bias-tip.aspx

Weezy Rider 10-18-2014 02:00 PM

It has tips that do the traditional quilting fold.