Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Tee Shirt Quilt - I'm a newbie (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/tee-shirt-quilt-im-newbie-t171597.html)

kastolzm 12-10-2011 11:16 AM

Tee Shirt Quilt - I'm a newbie

Hiya, I am planning a tee shirt quilt for my parents of their old Harley Davidson tee shirts. My mother-in-law has helped with quilt ideas before but I'd like a more specific question answered. I need to buy the interfacing for the tee shirts but I don't know what weight to buy. My mother-in-law said not a heavy one, but that doesn't help me. There a lot of options; medium weight, featherweight, so-soft, etc. Suggestions?

My parents are plannig on using the quilt as display only, but I'd like it to be soft enough for use should they ever want to use it too. Thanks again. K

Pam S 12-10-2011 11:21 AM

The best interfacing to use for T-shirts is the iron-on tricot. It's lightweight which makes it easy to quilt through and if you apply it so the stretch on the interfacing is perpendicular to the stretch on the T-shirts, it really helps to keep the blocks from distorting. You can get it at JoAnns and lots of places on line.

GammaLou 12-10-2011 11:22 AM

You just need enough stabilization that the fabric doesn't stretch when you are sewing. The lighest weight is the softest! :)

kastolzm 12-10-2011 11:54 AM

Ok! Thanks. I am going to go to Hobby Lobby and see what they have. It's closer than JoAnns. LOL. Thanks!

kastolzm 12-10-2011 11:55 AM

Originally Posted by Pam S (Post 4769131)
The best interfacing to use for T-shirts is the iron-on tricot. It's lightweight which makes it easy to quilt through and if you apply it so the stretch on the interfacing is perpendicular to the stretch on the T-shirts, it really helps to keep the blocks from distorting. You can get it at JoAnns and lots of places on line.