Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   thimble thimble whos got the thimble (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/thimble-thimble-whos-got-thimble-t255837.html)

sophia 10-25-2014 01:45 PM

thimble thimble whos got the thimble

I am just starting to learn how to do some hand quilting. How do you all learn how to use a thimble? I have the clover thimble with the rubber thing on it. but I like to use my pointer finger. what kind of thimbles do you use. I find when use my middle finger with the thimble it is so hard to get my fingers working. and I go back to the pointer finger and well it is just like my mind won't let me use it I know this is a stupid question
but I want to learn maybe the old saying is true can't teach an old dog new tricks haha I have been piecing for some time but never hand quilted :)

bakermom 10-25-2014 01:52 PM

While I do use a thimble part of the time, I tape my fingers with adhesive tape to protect them instead of a thimble

Tartan 10-25-2014 02:33 PM

I use a John James metal thimble on my index finger when quilting side ways. I use a thimble on my thumb to quilt away from myself. Use what works for you.

Onebyone 10-25-2014 02:38 PM

You'll never learn the advantages of using a thimble if you put it on the pointer finger. That is the same as using the left foot for the brake and the right for the gas. Not safe or sensible at all. The way I learned to have a thimble be second nature when hand sewing was to have my finger poked enough times that tears would come. And I did not want an ugly callous on my finger.

joe'smom 10-25-2014 03:19 PM