Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Tie vs stitch (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/tie-vs-stitch-t193682.html)

marcycn 07-05-2012 06:08 AM

Tie vs stitch

Does anyone here tie their quilts?

Is it considered less of a quilt if it's not machine quilted or at least hand quilted?

Yarn vs DMC thread vs crochet thread if you do tie?

Do tied quilts hold up for a long time?

I'm new to all this but I have 4 finished tied quilts over the last 2 months with 4 more tops ready to sandwich. My goal is 10 by Christmas and then work on one for me. :)

DebraK 07-05-2012 06:34 AM

Tying your quilt does not make it less of a quilt. I like DMC.

Daylesewblessed 07-05-2012 06:44 AM

I like DMC or crochet thread. I do not prefer yarn. It is harder to pull through and turns to a fuzz ball after a few washings.

The important thing with tying quilts is to have a secure knot. I work with charity quilts, and some of the ones that come in are tied with granny knots. I can pull them out with no trouble, so they will never stand up to normal use or washing.

Dayle

bearisgray 07-05-2012 07:12 AM

I have some very old, very well used quilts that were tied.

The important things to me with a tied quilt -

1) The knots are secure

2) Depending on the batting/filler/middle - there are enough knots to hold it together and to keep the middle layer from shifting around - if one is using flannel or warm and natural batting, for example, one knot every 10 inches would probably be adequate. If using a fiber that is sort of 'loose' - a knot every four inches - read the packaging label

3) I prefer the knots to be 'arranged' - not scattered willy-nilly. It probably doesn't affect/afflict the utility value of the item, but I like the knots to be arranged in fairly straight lines and fairly consistently spaced.

Sewhappytoquilt 07-05-2012 07:14 AM