Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   What to charge??? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/what-charge-t25211.html)

Kara 09-08-2009 12:50 PM

1 Attachment(s)
My husband's grandmother would like to buy a quilt from me. I already have the quilt top, just need to layer and quilt. I'll have to hand quilt it because of its size (about 98" square).

My question: What to charge??? Is there some "formula" that you use when pricing? My mom said, "The amount of supplies x 3". I would have paid about $200 in 'stuff' if it wasn't for the fact it was on sale. Is this going to be worth $600 when it's done? I'm planning on wreaths, grid, and 1/4" inside the diamonds.

What do you think? This is my first time around, and I don't want to cheat myself and give it away, or over-charge...

Here's the picture...

lfw045 09-08-2009 01:07 PM

Hubby's grandmother? It would make a wonderful Christmas present from the both of you.

Adriane 09-08-2009 01:13 PM

The Marketing side of my brain says:
Cost of materials x 3 - retail
Cost of materials x 2 - wholesale

The Family side of my brain says:
-Christmas gift
-Birthday gift
-Sell it to her at cost, IF she really wants to buy it from you. I remember my friend's grandmother paying him $25 to reset the clock on her VCR...not a huge task, but she wanted to give him money. (Families are weird!) :)

BlueChicken 09-08-2009 01:14 PM

That's a stunning quilt, well done!

I do like the idea of a christmas present, but then it's a pretty "big" present.

We have the "x3" thing here too.... as a general rule it's one third for materials, one third for labour, and one third for profit. The sad fact is for hand made crafts it usually puts the final price out of reach for people, it just ends up too high.
For a family member or close friend I would also discount the price, we call it "mate's rates". :-)

RedGarnet222 09-08-2009 03:58 PM