Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: What to charge???

My husband's grandmother would like to buy a quilt from me. I already have the quilt top, just need to layer and quilt. I'll have to hand quilt it because of its size (about 98" square).

My question: What to charge??? Is there some "formula" that you use when pricing? My mom said, "The amount of supplies x 3". I would have paid about $200 in 'stuff' if it wasn't for the fact it was on sale. Is this going to be worth $600 when it's done? I'm planning on wreaths, grid, and 1/4" inside the diamonds.

What do you think? This is my first time around, and I don't want to cheat myself and give it away, or over-charge...

Here's the picture...
    Attached Images Attached Images

Hubby's grandmother? It would make a wonderful Christmas present from the both of you.

The Marketing side of my brain says:
    Cost of materials x 3 - retail
    Cost of materials x 2 - wholesale

The Family side of my brain says:
    -Christmas gift
    -Birthday gift
    -Sell it to her at cost, IF she really wants to buy it from you. I remember my friend's grandmother paying him $25 to reset the clock on her VCR...not a huge task, but she wanted to give him money. (Families are weird!) :)

That's a stunning quilt, well done!

I do like the idea of a christmas present, but then it's a pretty "big" present.

We have the "x3" thing here too.... as a general rule it's one third for materials, one third for labour, and one third for profit. The sad fact is for hand made crafts it usually puts the final price out of reach for people, it just ends up too high.
    For a family member or close friend I would also discount the price, we call it "mate's rates". :-)