Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   What things are you still having problems with in quilting? Let's Chit Chat! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/what-things-you-still-having-problems-quilting-lets-chit-chat-t51255.html)

craftybear 06-25-2010 03:29 AM

What things are you still having problems with in quilting?
Let's Chit Chat!

I am sure someone can help!

mpspeedy 06-25-2010 03:50 AM

While I have been quilting for 40+ years I still have trouble getting my piecing perfect. I just put together a top that will be quilted at the Senior Center. The original star blocks were made and donated by someone else. The fabric was to old to be able to match. I had to add enough other fabrics to make it queen size. I carefully measured and measured some more with every block I placed in the design. By the last row of blocks it is off a good inch in one row. I have ripped out, trimmed and resewn several times. It drives me crazy.

Bobbielinks 06-25-2010 04:16 AM

I agree, getting the piecing "perfect" is always a problem with me. Even when I square up each block before sewing it to the next block. I have found that it helps some to place a piece of masking tape on my sewing machine 1/4 inch right of the needle extending it all the way out to the edge of my machine to give me a "line" for my fabric to follow so I can get a true 1/4 inch seam.

CAROLJ 06-25-2010 05:20 AM

I'm afraid of the rotary cutter. When I first started quilting I used scissors. I quit for years, now that I'm back I use a rotary cutter. Musch faster, but also much sharper and easier to make a cutting mistake on my fingers ond on the fabric!

granniebj 06-25-2010 05:25 AM