Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: What things are you still having problems with in quilting? Let's Chit Chat!

Blog Entries
    What things are you still having problems with in quilting?
    Let's Chit Chat!

I am sure someone can help!

While I have been quilting for 40+ years I still have trouble getting my piecing perfect. I just put together a top that will be quilted at the Senior Center. The original star blocks were made and donated by someone else. The fabric was to old to be able to match. I had to add enough other fabrics to make it queen size. I carefully measured and measured some more with every block I placed in the design. By the last row of blocks it is off a good inch in one row. I have ripped out, trimmed and resewn several times. It drives me crazy.

I agree, getting the piecing "perfect" is always a problem with me. Even when I square up each block before sewing it to the next block. I have found that it helps some to place a piece of masking tape on my sewing machine 1/4 inch right of the needle extending it all the way out to the edge of my machine to give me a "line" for my fabric to follow so I can get a true 1/4 inch seam.

I'm afraid of the rotary cutter. When I first started quilting I used scissors. I quit for years, now that I'm back I use a rotary cutter. Musch faster, but also much sharper and easier to make a cutting mistake on my fingers ond on the fabric!

Hand quilting! I just can't seem to get the hang of it! I gave up and did machine quilting but can't stuff more then a lap quilt in it. This GMFG quilt will be hand quilted, but I've decided to make it as large as a lap quilt. Unfortuantely I now have arthritis in my hands! Grrr!