Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Wool backing is that possible? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/wool-backing-possible-t258099.html)

Lilyfiona64 12-12-2014 04:34 AM

Wool backing is that possible?

Hello everyone! My boyfriend asked me if I could make him a quilt but use wool as the backing. I was thinking flannel for the top and just attach to wool and bind not batting. Thoughts? Suggestions? I'm not good at coming up with ideas so please help

Tartan 12-12-2014 04:56 AM

Wool backing might be scratchy and can also shrink if not laundered properly. Some people like to use fleece for backing with no batt.

canmitch1971 12-12-2014 06:20 AM

I used wool batting in one of my quilts and it is lovely..

ManiacQuilter2 12-12-2014 06:32 AM

I bought in the 70s a wool quilt with squares tied at a farm auction in Kansas. I kept it in the car when I was living temporarily back east to keep warm when turnpikes were closed down due to snow. It was scratchy but kept me warm. I would either use fleece or wool batting which is much more practical. This quilt weight was very heavy but it did keep me warm during some nasty snow storms.

Lilyfiona64 12-12-2014 06:39 AM

I tried to tell him that but he said no he wants it has the backing. I guess his dad finds them at thrift stores and what not.

feline fanatic 12-12-2014 06:41 AM

Are you sure he didn't mean batting and not backing? There are many very nice washable wool battings on the market. I would be hesitant to use a wool backing for the reasons Tartan stated. Also it would be extremely cost prohibitive. Average price of wool fabric is in excess of $20 per yard (although it can be found cheaper on the net)