Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Question to older quilters?

Question to older quilters?

I have not been quilting long and never had anyone in the family
    quilt so i have self taught myself
    my question is?
    A dear friend was talking about old quilts she can remember as a child
    how they were great to lay on the ground to play on
    she said she remember hearing them say how hard they were to pull the
    (batting) not sure what they were using it would have been from the
    50's early 60"s
    does anyone have any idea what they are talking about
    i would to be able to help her

They could have been referring to "carding". It is a process done on many fibers to prepare them for use from the raw form.

Here is a link that explains it. At the bottom of the first page continued on to the second.

http://www.villagequiltworks.com/ima...ttingChart.pdf

The physical act of carding is kind of like pulling. They lay the fibers on a brush that looks like a big curry brush used in animal grooming. Then another brush is pulled over the first one. It aligns the fibers and removes vegetable matter. Very common in much older quilts then the 50s and 60s though. However the process is still done today so maybe if your friend was brought up in an agricultural community it could have been carding.

Edited to add, it is my understanding carding was hard tedious work.

I started quilting in the mid 60s and have no clue what she means.
    Another Phyllis
    This life is the only one you get - enjoy it before you lose it.