Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Quilt Backings >

Quilt Backings

Quilt Backings

Old 06-28-2010, 09:17 AM

Hi, I'm a newbie here, been lurking for about a month now. I'm very curious about quilt backings. About 99.99999999% of the time, the backs are just some kind of fabric that ties in somehow (or not) with the front. But essentially, plain. How come? I know there's no rules, but how did this evolve? Why don't we do equally nice "backs" so the quilt can be reversable? Or...use all the left over pieces from the front and create sort of a crazy quilt backing, it would still be really nice reversed. I don't get it!
Old 06-28-2010, 09:19 AM
Power Poster

Originally Posted by sharie101
Hi, I'm a newbie here, been lurking for about a month now. I'm very curious about quilt backings. About 99.99999999% of the time, the backs are just some kind of fabric that ties in somehow (or not) with the front. But essentially, plain. How come? I know there's no rules, but how did this evolve? Why don't we do equally nice "backs" so the quilt can be reversable? Or...use all the left over pieces from the front and create sort of a crazy quilt backing, it would still be really nice reversed. I don't get it!
Some people do all the things you've said.
Old 06-28-2010, 09:21 AM

You can. Reversable quilts have been around probably as long as quilts have or at least almost as long. A lot of people are using their left over fabric and piecing it together to back or at least partially back their quilts. The down side is that if several seams happen to meet in one spot it can be a booger to quilt.
Old 06-28-2010, 09:22 AM

I often buy good quality fabric on sale in large quantities just to be used for backings. I don't mind the piecing. Often when I quilt for others they use muslin but that's their preference not mine.
Old 06-28-2010, 09:25 AM