Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Quilt stencil >

Quilt stencil

Quilt stencil

Old 04-20-2014, 09:27 PM

Default Quilt stencil

I am just starting to learn to FMQ and there is no way I can make up designs as I go or draw them freehand (unless I wanted them to look like a 3 year old drew them ). Where do you buy your quilting stencils? What do you trace them with (pens, chalk, etc)? Thanks!
Old 04-21-2014, 02:09 AM

The stencil company has many many many stencils. You can order on line.
http://quiltingstencils.com/
Old 04-21-2014, 02:20 AM
Power Poster

many quilt shops have a few to choose from so does Joanne fabrics & hobby lobby- then there is the stencil company- and many on-line sources...or you could just load up a practice quilt, and start quilting...learn the movements, don't worry about a specific design---actually do *free motion* ... practice loop-d-loops, stars, flowers, write your name, stipple (where the lines do not touch or cross) and meander (where your lines may overlap- cross- loop & flow) do some feathery type designs, spirals...just 'free-motion' ... you may be amazed at all the different things you can do-when you are free to-instead of concentrating on trying to follow lines. then after that practice piece load up another practice piece with a top fabric that is a large print----then practice by outlining *echo quilting* the designs on the fabric...the more you practice the easier and smoother your stitching will become.
Old 04-21-2014, 03:15 AM
Power Poster

It depends on the quilt top how I mark it. For medium to dark tops I use ordinary white chalkboard chalk. I sharpen it to a nice point with a makeup sharpener. For light tops I use a water erasable marker. There is also a pounce and pounce chalk but I don't have those. Some people like a sliver of soap to mark their top.
Old 04-21-2014, 03:40 AM