Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
quilting on longarm >

quilting on longarm

quilting on longarm

Old 11-23-2014, 05:08 PM

Default quilting on longarm

I usually use cotton 50wt on my longarm

I have some glide thread tried using that it kept shredding on me I was using glide on top and cotton on the bobbin could that be my problem?????

Do you always use the same thread in the bobbin the same as the top thread????
Old 11-23-2014, 05:20 PM

I have a Gammill, and through the years, my son and I have come to agree that the same thread top and bottom works best. That makes us put a back on a quilt that we might not otherwise use, so that we won't have glaring differences front and back. But I am not a professional contest entering quilter, so don't use my word as the last word in quilting. I guess if I ever get to that point, I might have to re-think my methods. But, for me, right now, yes, always use the same thread top and bobbin.
Old 11-23-2014, 05:40 PM

I just bought the Innova long arm machine and used glide thread, it was great 99 % of the time but I think after 4 quilts I need to change the needle. I used matching thread but it was cotton, a pre wound bobbin
Old 11-23-2014, 06:30 PM
Power Poster

What needle size are you using? And what longarm do you have? Shredding is usually caused by using a needle whose eye is too small for the thread size, by not having the needle positioned correctly for the machine, or because the tension is not right (usually top tension, but tensioning is a combination of bobbin and top).

It's actually usually good to combine a cotton thread in the bobbin with a polyester thread on top, as the cotton "grips" the polyester and gives you better, more even stitches that poly with poly.