Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Retro-Clean washing issue >

Retro-Clean washing issue

Retro-Clean washing issue

Old 05-10-2021, 04:02 PM

Default Retro-Clean washing issue

Hello everyone. I am actually posting this question on behalf of a friend. She was cleaning out an elderly relatives home that recently passed due to Covid-19 and came across several hand appliqued quilt blocks. Several were stained from what her family thought was bc they were in an old wooden chest without any type of protection. So one of the daughters took the blocks and got some Retro-Clean at a quilt shop. She followed the directions and although most of the stains came out, the black stitching around the applique (looked like embroidery floss) faded to gray in many spots. Some of the blocks were allowed to sit in the solution longer then others depending on the level of yellowing and stains. So I get a phone call from my mother who is elderly asking what they can do to "fix them." I am new to quilting, but have been doing cross stitch and embroidery for years. The only thing I thought of was to take 2 strands of good DMC floss and go over the faded lines. But that would be a lot of work for these women. Does anyone think a black permanent fabric pen would work? Or any other ideas? The picture I zoomed in on what they are wanting to fix.
Attached Thumbnails image_123986672.jpg  
Old 05-10-2021, 05:22 PM
Power Poster

If they have a sacrificial block, they could try both methods to see what worked best.
Old 05-10-2021, 07:05 PM

Oh, what a shame! And that's very odd that there would be that much difference in fading within just a few inches of stitches.

I would check and see if the thread is still sound. Does it break easily? Like with a little pull with a toothpick? If so, you'll probably have to re-do the stitching.

If you go with re-coloring, I would use a permanent fabric marker like Fabrico, Pigma Micron or Identi-Pen - colors made to be safe on fabric.