Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Rulers to get started

Rulers to get started

I am new to quilting. I have sewn for years so I have other sewing notions but the rulers to get have me stuck. I know the basics but when my Gramma showed me it was with scissors and paper templates so in rounding up supplies I got to rulers and there are so many I am baffled. I could spend a fortune I guess, but what I really need are the basics to start out. Any help would be much appreciated.

marnissa,
    For the most part I still use templates and scissors-I love the sound of the scissors closing; it's a sound that takes me back to my mom sewing. I also shake a lot so I'm kind of intimidated with the rotary cutter, I don't have as much control and I'm afraid I might cut off something vital.

I have a four " by 12" ruler that I like but mostly I use the June Taylor Get Squared rulters to square the blocks up when they're finished. I have a 12", 8" and 6" ones.

Good luck wading through all of the products to find the ones that work for you. I bought my rulers at Joann with coupons because the cost was a factor to me, so I get one at a time.
    Andii

Now days there is a ruler for everything. However, to get started with the basic bare bones you can get by with a 6 x 12 and a 6 x 24 inch ruler. I happen to like the Omni grid rulers, but there are many good ones out there. With those 2 rulers, you can cut strips, squares, even triangles, sort of.

If you want to get a little fancier, there are some great rulers at

www.guidelines4quilting.com/