Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
"Scant Quarter" >

"Scant Quarter"

"Scant Quarter"

Old 02-23-2020, 07:55 AM

Default "Scant Quarter"

This is probably a really dumb question but...I began quilting about 9 months ago. During the class I learned to cut fabric "scant quarters". My foot is a quarter but I put several layers of tape as a guide and have continued. Yesterday I took my granddaughter to a 4-H Quilting Day. The kids made 4 different blocks into a very cute pillow. She was thrilled! But, she learned about cutting scant quarters. I really do not understand the concept. If I cut all cuts a scant quarter shouldn't they all match up? If I cut all cuts a full quarter shouldn't they also match? I hope someone can help me. Math has never been my strength but I don't get it.
Old 02-23-2020, 08:01 AM

I'm self taught and so have missed a lot of things. I'm most familiar with "scant" as being the seam allowance. That is, you cut exactly but sew just under the 1/4" to make up for the fold/depth of the fabric.

Now, different rulers actually have different rules! Some the line is where you are supposed to cut and others the line is next to where you are supposed to cut. For most of us it simply doesn't matter because consistency is more important than microns.

But consistency is key, just a thread off in a small piece is actually 2 threads off because it is two pieces of fabric, so multiply that a 100 times across the surface of a quilt and it can make a lot of differences.

When I first started quilting I was all about precision but I have switched to the "cut large and trim down" school whenever possible. I find I am ultimately more precise and faster -- which translates to being more fun for me even though I have the trimming step I'm still faster than my friends.
Old 02-23-2020, 08:15 AM