Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Scrap quilt - mixing fabrics >

Scrap quilt - mixing fabrics

Scrap quilt - mixing fabrics

Old 12-02-2013, 06:06 PM

Default Scrap quilt - mixing fabrics

I should just make a signature that says, "I am a newb, please help!" Lol

I was gifted a bunch of fabric, with quite varied prints, and have decided on making a scrap quilt like this one: http://www.52quilts.com/2012/08/sund...rap-vomit.html

The fabric all seems to be discount store quality (which is fine... gift horse you know) printed cottons, some of which appear to be pre-washed. I already have some scrap 2.5" squares of quilt shop quality unwashed fabrics, including some batiks.

Do you think it would be okay to mix those in? I wonder if the batiks would stick out like a sore thumb, if the different quality fabrics would be an issue, and how much of a problem mixing washed/unwashed stuff would be..

Last edited by romille; 12-02-2013 at 06:08 PM.
Old 12-02-2013, 06:12 PM

I wouldnt go with this method. There are better easier ways to get the same result using strips instead of a zillion little squares
Old 12-02-2013, 06:13 PM

Yikes! Please say you're going to call it something other then "Scrap Vomit"!
Old 12-02-2013, 06:26 PM

Please go to www.Quiltville.com and read about Bonnie Hunter' s scrap user system and look at her quilts. She also has MANY free patterns and a blog which is lots of fun. She uses lots of scraps, including squares. Also, if you like the colors, use the batiks - the more variety, the better the scrappy quilt! :-)
Old 12-02-2013, 06:43 PM

Originally Posted by sewplease View Post
Please go to www.Quiltville.com and read about Bonnie Hunter' s scrap user system and look at her quilts. She also has MANY free patterns and a blog which is lots of fun. She uses lots of scraps, including squares. Also, if you like the colors, use the batiks - the more variety, the better the scrappy quilt! :-)
I agree with sewplease.