Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
scrappy quilt >

scrappy quilt

scrappy quilt

Old 09-04-2011, 05:41 AM

what is a scrappy I always thought it was all kinds of fabric colors strips or whatever you had on hand and that you did not have to worry about placement just go with the flo I am new at this so need some in put also i find that all the directions for cutting are with a rotary cutter which I bought but do not use because of arthrits can not find anything where they quilt the old way with sizzors template I am about ready to give it up and go back to crochet I read in a post for the postage stamp quilt that if you keep your blocks 2 or under that it would not matter about placement or colors that when finish it would look great but am thing it would take a lot of 2 inch blocks just to make a throw will put into search to see how big for throw I guess
Old 09-04-2011, 05:50 AM

Your quilt, your rules. :)
Scrappy is anything you want it to be.
Make your own templates and quilt the old fashioned way.
I use a Martelli rotary cutter - the handle is at right angles to the blade. My wrist does not hurt.
Old 09-04-2011, 05:55 AM

I guess everyone has their inturpitatino of " scrappy". But I agree with you. Scrappy is just as u discribed. Now some ppl get a bit more ofrganized than other son it.. and do a blue scrappy or a red , etc.. prehaps has floral scrappy... kcrappy..
I do not see why a scrappy would NEED to be under 2 inches in block size. I make what I call scrappyies all the time and I use what ever size block I choose.. I sew for the Veterans alot so , time/energy/$ is of the essense. I usually choose a block no smaller than 4 inches...But then , I'm not ur normal , avg quilter.. I break alot of rules...... ppl love the items just the same... The only REAL rules are, Do what you like. It's your project make it like want. I rotary some and I cut plenty with my scissors.... your choice.
No need to give up one hbby over another... I love to crochet too!!