Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Serpentine stitch on Janome 6600? >

Serpentine stitch on Janome 6600?

Serpentine stitch on Janome 6600?

Old 05-11-2013, 04:54 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Posts: 858
Default Serpentine stitch on Janome 6600?

I've looked on my Janome 6600 for the serpentine stitch that I have seen so many quilters use. I can't seem to get it large enough. Does anyone with my machine know if it's possible to get a serpentine stitch that is, maybe, 3/4" wide and proportionately long? Thanks.
loisf is offline  
Old 05-11-2013, 07:46 PM
  #2  
Super Member
 
snipforfun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,877
Default

Go to yahoogroups.com and join the janome 6500/6600 group. There has been a lot of posts lately about the serpentine stitch. Someone there has figured out how to program one in the files section.
snipforfun is offline  
Old 05-11-2013, 08:44 PM
  #3  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 38,365
Default

The serpentine stitch on my Bernina actually looks like a zig zag stitch but with tiny stitches. It becomes the serpentine when I increase the stitch length. Does your machine have a stitch similar?
Tartan is offline  
Old 05-11-2013, 08:56 PM
  #4  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North-Central Indiana
Posts: 4,840
Default

There's a sort-of serpentine on the 6600 but it's a very tight serpentine no matter how much you adjust it. I wanted a long one and am thrilled that someone on the yahoo group shared how to do it. I've already made a quilt with it and it's my new favorite stitch.

The programmed one isn't 3/4" wide. It's probably 7mm since that's the widest the foot is but if you vary the programming you can stretch it out pretty long.
Attached Thumbnails serpentinecloseup-l.jpg  

Last edited by QuiltnNan; 08-06-2017 at 11:45 AM. Reason: link is to own/affiliated site
gale is offline  
Old 05-11-2013, 11:28 PM
  #5  
Super Member
 
JanTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Texas Gulf Coast
Posts: 1,463
Default

On the 6600 in Mode 3 stitch 11 is one I'd call a scallop. But it may be what you're looking for. I use it a lot.
JanTx is offline  
Old 05-12-2013, 04:40 PM
  #6  
Super Member
 
JanTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Texas Gulf Coast
Posts: 1,463
Default

Here's a picture of Mode 3 stitch 11 on the Janome 6600. Is this the sort of stitch you were looking for?
Attached Thumbnails img_1939%5B1%5D.jpg  
JanTx is offline  
Old 05-14-2013, 08:46 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Posts: 858
Default

Thanks for all your help. SnipForFun, I have joined the Yahoo group and will look for the serpentine stitch thread. I like the result that it gave Gale. I will also check out Tartan's technique. And JanTx's scallop is very pretty and certainly an option. It's interesting that a machine with all the bells and whistles of the 6600 doesn't have that particular stitch. Thank you, thank you.
loisf is offline  
Old 05-14-2013, 08:57 AM
  #8  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North-Central Indiana
Posts: 4,840
Default

If you go into the group files, the serpentine lesson is in the folder called stitches and samples.
gale is offline  
Old 09-13-2014, 04:19 PM
  #9  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 272
Default

Thank you for posting this! I found it on my Brother LB6800 (that I've had 2 years and just started learning to use it when I hurt mu knee and couldn't use the foot pedal on my Janome). It's very pretty at different sizes and really fills the space in a hurry.
Sewslow is offline  
Old 05-06-2016, 03:02 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
PghPat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Pittsburgh PA - Leesburg FL
Posts: 537
Default

I belong to the Yahoo group and was thrilled to get the directions for putting the Serpentine Stitch into my memory. I have used my own creation with the zig zag stitch but was never thrilled with it. I have had my 6600 for about 5 or 6 years and have never learned to use the Memory feature. I followed her directions step by step an was blind to what I was doing - finished and it works but I do'nt think I'd be able to put a stitch into memory again by myself. This is the stitch I programmed - with a straight stitch between.
image.jpeg
PghPat is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
osewme
Main
4
03-21-2019 04:39 PM
inspiredgramma
Main
18
11-27-2017 01:04 PM
LavenderBlue
Main
2
07-30-2017 03:01 PM
gigi712
Main
9
09-15-2014 11:51 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.