Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Serpentine stitch on Janome 6600?

  1. #1
    Senior Member loisf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Posts
    759

    Serpentine stitch on Janome 6600?

    I've looked on my Janome 6600 for the serpentine stitch that I have seen so many quilters use. I can't seem to get it large enough. Does anyone with my machine know if it's possible to get a serpentine stitch that is, maybe, 3/4" wide and proportionately long? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Member snipforfun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,971
    Blog Entries
    8
    Go to yahoogroups.com and join the janome 6500/6600 group. There has been a lot of posts lately about the serpentine stitch. Someone there has figured out how to program one in the files section.

  3. #3
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    35,799
    The serpentine stitch on my Bernina actually looks like a zig zag stitch but with tiny stitches. It becomes the serpentine when I increase the stitch length. Does your machine have a stitch similar?

  4. #4
    Super Member gale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North-Central Indiana
    Posts
    4,765
    Blog Entries
    1
    There's a sort-of serpentine on the 6600 but it's a very tight serpentine no matter how much you adjust it. I wanted a long one and am thrilled that someone on the yahoo group shared how to do it. I've already made a quilt with it and it's my new favorite stitch.

    The programmed one isn't 3/4" wide. It's probably 7mm since that's the widest the foot is but if you vary the programming you can stretch it out pretty long.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by QuiltnNan; 08-06-2017 at 11:45 AM. Reason: link is to own/affiliated site

  5. #5
    Super Member JanTx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Texas Gulf Coast
    Posts
    1,469
    On the 6600 in Mode 3 stitch 11 is one I'd call a scallop. But it may be what you're looking for. I use it a lot.
    So many quilts, so little time.

  6. #6
    Super Member JanTx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Texas Gulf Coast
    Posts
    1,469
    Here's a picture of Mode 3 stitch 11 on the Janome 6600. Is this the sort of stitch you were looking for?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    So many quilts, so little time.

  7. #7
    Senior Member loisf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Posts
    759
    Thanks for all your help. SnipForFun, I have joined the Yahoo group and will look for the serpentine stitch thread. I like the result that it gave Gale. I will also check out Tartan's technique. And JanTx's scallop is very pretty and certainly an option. It's interesting that a machine with all the bells and whistles of the 6600 doesn't have that particular stitch. Thank you, thank you.

  8. #8
    Super Member gale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North-Central Indiana
    Posts
    4,765
    Blog Entries
    1
    If you go into the group files, the serpentine lesson is in the folder called stitches and samples.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    272
    Thank you for posting this! I found it on my Brother LB6800 (that I've had 2 years and just started learning to use it when I hurt mu knee and couldn't use the foot pedal on my Janome). It's very pretty at different sizes and really fills the space in a hurry.

  10. #10
    Senior Member PghPat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Pittsburgh PA - Leesburg FL
    Posts
    534
    Blog Entries
    42
    I belong to the Yahoo group and was thrilled to get the directions for putting the Serpentine Stitch into my memory. I have used my own creation with the zig zag stitch but was never thrilled with it. I have had my 6600 for about 5 or 6 years and have never learned to use the Memory feature. I followed her directions step by step an was blind to what I was doing - finished and it works but I do'nt think I'd be able to put a stitch into memory again by myself. This is the stitch I programmed - with a straight stitch between.
    Name:  image.jpeg
Views: 1166
Size:  1.35 MB

  11. #11
    Super Member osewme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    3,806
    My Janome Magnolia 7330 does not have a serpentine stitch. May play around with the zig zag & see if I can't make it look similar to a serpentine stitch. Does anyone else have any ideas for one on the Magnolia 7330?

  12. #12
    Super Member Sandygirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    4,822
    I have the Janome 9900 combo. It came with the serpentine...which is one reason i bought this machine. I use it to quilt projects. It is a 9 mm machine stitch width.

    sandy
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Sandygirl

    Janome 9900 / Janome 9700 / Janome 3160 QVC/ Janome 1100D serger, Juki 2020 Mini
    Singer Centennial model (inherited from my late, fav aunt!)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.