Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: should I stop using this thread?

should I stop using this thread?

I recently purchased a Bernina sewing machine. When I went for lessons on how to use all the special stitches, the woman there told me not to use the thread I had in the machine. I use Essential Thread which I purchase from Connecting Threads. She said that the thread is not wound on the bobbin correctly and that the tension would not be correct. I have been using this thread for a few years on my Brother sewing machine and it seems to be okay. Has anyone had problems with this thread? Should I ignore what she said and continue to use it? I have a lot of spools of it because I don't have a store near me where I can buy thread. Thanks.

Blog Entries
    You got some replies to this question in your previous thread here:
    http://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1...d-t197236.html

I use Essential thread for almost all my piecing. I have a Bernina 153QE and a Janome Horizon and I've not had any tension issues on either machine while using this thread. I actually like it better than Gutterman's and some other more expensive threads.
    -Chris-
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Blessed are the children of quilters, for they shall inherit the quilts....

It does not do well, Harry, to dwell on the dreams....and forget to live. - Albus Dumbledore

I frequently use that thread on my Bernina.

My Bernina is not the least bit fussy about what thread I use...fat, thin, natural, synthetic, metallic, expensive, cheap, old, new, foreign or domestic. That said, I don't use CT thread because it's too linty for my liking. My guess is that the sheriff said not to use it because she doesn't sell it.