Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Sleepers quilt

Sleepers quilt

I was asked to make a quilt from baby sleepers. Has anyone made one before? I am wondering if the sleepers need a fusible interfacing. Would it be difficult to make? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Blog Entries
    I would think the fabric would be so thin that it would not last. The fusible interfacing idea sounds like a good solution.

Power Poster
    I would run away from the idea as fast as I could.

An exception might be if it was to be for a memory quilt for a child that died.

Quote Originally Posted by bearisgray View Post

An exception might be if it was to be for a memory quilt for a child that died.
    I'm curious. Why would you say that? I'm not very experienced at quilting, so would like to know why I might not want to do that.

If I understand what baby sleepers are, they are thin, t-shirt type material. They are obviously small with lots of zippers, snaps or such which could make design difficult..... Ok, I get it - kinda, sorta.

But, they are knit, not going to ravel, could be interfaced for stability and are kind of cute.

bkay

Quote Originally Posted by bearisgray View Post
    Lol, Bear!

The only way I would do sleepers would be to applique the fronts of them onto cotton quilting fabric. And as they are knit, yes you do need a fusible backing such as you use for T shirt quilts. French Fuse or another tricot interfacing is what I use.

If you are up for the project, go for it!
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/sewbizgirl
    Boom 20 Album of Blocks I made to swap https://www.quiltingboard.com/member...bums19942.html
    "The reward of a thing well done is having done it." -- Ralph Waldo Emerson

Power Poster
    Quote Originally Posted by sewbizgirl View Post
    Lol, Bear!