Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Spray Starch Alternative

Spray Starch Alternative

Has anyone ever used Mary Ellen's starch alternative? I usually use Niagara but after hearing that sometimes bugs like to eat it, I was thinking of changing starches. I can't seem to find the ingredients of Mary Ellen's starch online to see if there is any food in it. Any suggestions and comments will be helpful. Thanks

I use the Mary Ellen's Best Press all the time. It really helps get the wrinkles out of fabric easily. I really like the way it makes the fabric a little stiffer.

Blog Entries
    i've been using Niagra starch for 50 years- and have never had a bug eat my fabric!
    personally i can not stand the smell of the Mary ellen's stuff---so i don't use it. i will stick with the niagra which has been around for a long-long time and is much less expensive since it doesn't say (quilting) on it- which seems to add a few bucks- and it doesn't have perfume added to it...which i find horrible.
    hiding away in my stash where i'm warm, safe and happy

I love Mary Ellen's Best Press but can't afford to use it for everything. So I buy the Niagra that is for dark clothes that doesn't leave flakes. It does work well. Then read on here that many buy the concentrate and make their own. What a flaky mess! So back to using the the 2- Best Press as often as possible. It is Slightly cheaper buying the larger refill but not much. Hope someone has a solution for all of us stretching the budget. I wash mine, but wall hangings and table toppers need the starch to get the look I like them to have.

Blog Entries