Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
spray starch >

spray starch

spray starch

Old 02-16-2011, 05:22 AM

somewhere while perusing posts, i remember seeing that some of you use spray starch- maybe on the backing- when sandwiching & pinning your quilt. i am a self-taught quilter- had never seen this advice before. when do ya'll use spray starch?
Old 02-16-2011, 05:24 AM

I starch my fabrics before cutting and piecing. It helps keep the fabric stable, especially if you have any pieces with bias cuts.
Old 02-16-2011, 05:25 AM

I starch everything all the time. It makes my cuts better. It holds two pieces of cloth together and helps layer cuts. It seems to prevent puckering on my backings when I quilt.
Old 02-16-2011, 05:27 AM
Power Poster

i use spray starch when cutting/piecing fabrics that need a little more than just a spritz of water. or when i want it to be nice and 'crisp' for precise cutting
Old 02-16-2011, 05:28 AM

I used to use spray starch ... ALOT buying 6 cans at a time. Now I used the liquid concentrate and immerse my fabric, its much cheaper and I can adjust the amount. Immersing gives a more even application of starch. I mix my own "spray" from the concentrate and keep it on my ironing board for those quick needs. I will admit I rarely sew anything that is not starched. Once you use it ... you will not want to be without it.
Starch is making a good quilter even better!
Old 02-16-2011, 05:35 AM

I spray starch my entire piece of fabric before folding to cut. ☺
Old 02-16-2011, 05:48 AM

Inquiring minds want to know, Where do you buy the concentrate starch and what is the best brand?
Old 02-16-2011, 05:58 AM

Originally Posted by sewmuchmore
Inquiring minds want to know, Where do you buy the concentrate starch and what is the best brand?