Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Square block pattern

I have seen a few quilts online that have the following block but I cannot find a pattern. It looks like a very simple pattern, which would be good for me as I am a beginner

Can anyone point me in the right direction for a pattern.
    The block consists of a square that is surrounded by rectangles on all four sides.

I am saving up some fat quarters to make a quilt with this pattern.
    Thanks

Blog Entries
    Go check out www.quilterscache.com I am sure that you will find what your looking for there. They have a ton of free patterns and pictures. Good Luck.

Do you mean, square in a square?

It sounds like a block called "square in a square" if I'm understanding your description. If you can find a beginning quilt book it will be of help to get you started. Good luck & welcome to the quilting world.

Thank you ladies I will go do some searching, now that I have an idea.

is it the tortilla pattern?

Quote Originally Posted by Airwick156
    Go check out www.quilterscache.com I am sure that you will find what your looking for there. They have a ton of free patterns and pictures. Good Luck.
    Deanna I checked this site out and found squares within squares 2 which is very similar but instead of the two small suares on the left and right they are oblongs. Any ideas?

I don't think its a square within a square, as the blocks I have seen for this dont have the middle square at an angle.

I will keep looking but if anyone knows what I am talking about, that would be great ;-)

I can't find the tortilla pattern to check it out, google comes up with recipes for food!! LOL

Is it either one of these or similar?

Four Square
    Name:  Attachment-165833.jpe
Views: 119
Size:  11.7 KB

Square in Square
    Name:  Attachment-165834.jpe