Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Is a square hoop better than a round hoop?

Blog Entries
    I posted a picture of this square frame I made online (fb) the other day and the reaction was overwhelmingly positive. Is it better or easier to use a square hoop while hand quilting? As many of you know, I am a woodworker - not a quilter, so any feedback on square hoops will help.
    Thanks,
    Harry B.
    Attached Images Attached Images

I have a Grace square hoop, and I don't think it holds the quilt as well as a round hoop. But maybe it's me.

Janet

Blog Entries
    I don't do any hand quilting anymore but that's a beautiful piece of work. Wow!

I've never used a square hoop. I am perfectly happy with my round hoop. Don't see any reason to change. I would not like your square hoop with the base on it. It would be uncomfortable and too high in my lap. And I tilt my hoop when I quilt.

Blog Entries
    Barb,
    The base has 3 adjustable height settings, it tilts and can spin 360 degrees. The top frame also pops off the lower base. I install small magnets that stick to the lazy susan spinner on the base.
    - Harry

Quote Originally Posted by Barb44
    I've never used a square hoop. I am perfectly happy with my round hoop. Don't see any reason to change. I would not like your square hoop with the base on it. It would be uncomfortable and too high in my lap. And I tilt my hoop when I quilt.

Totally drooling. I like the hoop with the sit-upon base. I have one of those for my crewel work and it works perfectly. I like being hands free when I'm working.

Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by madamepurl
    Totally drooling. I like the hoop with the sit-upon base. I have one of those for my crewel work and it works perfectly. I like being hands free when I'm working.