Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Starting a Longarm Quilting Business >

Starting a Longarm Quilting Business

Starting a Longarm Quilting Business

Old 12-07-2023, 09:47 AM

Default Starting a Longarm Quilting Business

I have been quilting for many years and recently bought a 10 foot longarm brand new it has a 18 inch neck. I have been FMQing for a few years on a domestic and also on a friends longarm. I recently moved to a small town in a different state.I want to start longarm arm quilting business, but I find people in the town and guilds only want computerized.quilting outside the guild as well, The minute people find out I dont have a computerized system its a big No not interested. One person said they only want the perfection that a computer has. I can't afford a $10,000 computer add on and I really enjoy fmqing. I can also do pantos on the back of my machine, but I was told no to that as well. Only computerized. I am thinking of setting up an online site, but when I did a search almost everyone has a computerized system. Is there anyone who has a small home longarm business that does not use a computerized machine and are still able to get customers? Thanks
Old 12-07-2023, 11:16 AM

Wow, That's surprising to hear. I don't have a long arm and cannot comment on trying to long arm as a business. IMHO a panto is a "computerized" pattern as it is uniform and all over. To me quilting is not about perfection (unless of course you are entering in a show). Maybe if you have examples of all over panto quilting people would see that it is indeed "computerized" in a way.
Old 12-07-2023, 01:45 PM
Power Poster