Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Storing Fabric >

Storing Fabric

Storing Fabric

Old 01-13-2011, 02:41 AM

I am new to quilting and I am starting to collect fabric. I saw on Quilting Board that someone used Coroplast and the pictures of her extra fabric storage looked very nice. I like the way she stored her fabric like you would see in our LQS. Does anyone else have a suggestion on how to store fabric?
Old 01-13-2011, 03:18 AM

Originally Posted by lighthouse
I am new to quilting and I am starting to collect fabric. I saw on Quilting Board that someone used Coroplast and the pictures of her extra fabric storage looked very nice. I like the way she stored her fabric like you would see in our LQS. Does anyone else have a suggestion on how to store fabric?
Hi Lighthouse!
Here is where I store my fabric. I used vegetable bins from Walmart and sorted my scraps.

Mysi's closet
[ATTACH=CONFIG]159325[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails attachment-159320.jpe  
Old 01-13-2011, 03:35 AM

Thank you for your idea Mysi. I like how you used the vegetable bins to store your scraps :-)
Old 01-13-2011, 03:50 AM

I am running into the same problem. I plan on going to Walmart to see want kinds of clear bins the have. I like the smaller bins so that I can easily carry them. I also love the art bins which are a bit pricey so waiting for the next sale.
Old 01-13-2011, 04:20 AM

Mine is by no means perfect, but I use shelving for a small portion of mine. I rolled mine like a remnant and stood up in 40--50 gallon clear totes. It got messed up too easily. I found that if I put the tote on it's side and then either stacked the rolls, or folded the fabric similar sizes and stacked them, I could get a look at what I have a little easier. I also sort by size of pieces. I also sort my scrapps by "strips", "chunks" and "odd shapes" and have them in shoe boxes with the contents marked on the side. They stack nicely. Hope this helps at least a little.
Old 01-13-2011, 05:07 AM