Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
strip sets v. separate piecing >

strip sets v. separate piecing

strip sets v. separate piecing

Old 12-24-2012, 03:50 PM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
JanTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Texas Gulf Coast
Posts: 1,463
Default strip sets v. separate piecing

I'm working on a simple pattern that has 8.5" square blocks which have a 4.5" X 8.5" center framed by two 2.5"X 8.5" strips. The directions call for cutting 8.5" strips of the center fabric, cutting that into the rectangles, then cutting the framing fbric into 8.5" strips and then cutting that into 2.5" pieces. So for 35 blocks you cut 35 pieces that are 4.5X8.5 and 70 piecs that are 2.5X8.5. Why would you do that instead of cutting 4.5" strips for the center and sewing those with the 2.5" strips on each side - then cutting the whole thing into 8.5" squares? Is there a reason?

I'm using two different fabrics for the centers - 1 yard each - and cut the first yard as directed. I cut the second yard and sewed it into strip sets before cutting it into the square blocks. I got the same number of blocks out of each yard. They are equally square. I just don't get why you would cut 70 strips 2.5X8.5 when you could cut and sew long strips instead.

Any insights?
JanTx is offline  
Old 12-24-2012, 03:58 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
nance-ell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 811
Default

Where did you find the pattern? It may just be the way the original person put it together so they wrote the instructions that way? Maybe someone who has never done strip piecing. You just knew enough to make your life easier
nance-ell is offline  
Old 12-24-2012, 04:05 PM
  #3  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
JanTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Texas Gulf Coast
Posts: 1,463
Default

It's an online pattern I've used before - but last time I used a layer cake and jelly roll so did not cut it as written in the pattern. Cut each 10" square in half so had 5 inch centers instead of 4.5". Then sewed the 2.5" strips on each side and squared to 9" I think.

Pattern:
http://kickassquiltsupplies.com/Share/taketwo.htm
JanTx is offline  
Old 12-24-2012, 04:10 PM
  #4  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 40,186
Default

MSQC has a quilt similar that uses layer cakes and a jelly roll. It was probably a pattern that was developed for pre-cuts and not yardage. I would do strips sets and then cut them too, much easier.
Tartan is offline  
Old 12-24-2012, 04:18 PM
  #5  
Super Member
 
117becca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: dayton OH
Posts: 1,911
Default

If I can make strip sets, I do.....I think it helps make more accurate blocks (and it sure is a heck of a lot faster to put together!!)
117becca is offline  
Old 12-24-2012, 04:47 PM
  #6  
Super Member
 
ArtsyOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Canadian in Minnesota
Posts: 3,078
Default

You're right to make it from strip sets - cutting all those individual rectangles would be a complete waste of time. When I look at quilts I always look first to see how they could be made from a strip set because I'm easily bored and like to see results immediately.
ArtsyOne is offline  
Old 12-24-2012, 06:04 PM
  #7  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,586
Default

May be an old pattern before we saw the benefit if strip piecing.
virtualbernie is offline  
Old 12-24-2012, 09:29 PM
  #8  
Super Member
 
pumpkinpatchquilter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,374
Default

Eh who knows. Sometimes if it's a scrap quilt designers give the number of pieces to cut rather than strip piecing instructions. If it was written for precuts they may just be assuming that you are also using precuts. I think it's helpful to have both instructions really. I can see a purpose for both.
pumpkinpatchquilter is offline  
Old 12-25-2012, 04:25 AM
  #9  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 2,639
Default

As soon as I saw the pattern, I know why you asked. I have that pattern too and the first time I was going to make it, read the instructions a couple of times and said "strip sets", and have done it that way ever since.
sandy l is offline  
Old 12-26-2012, 05:32 AM
  #10  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Horse Country, FL
Posts: 7,341
Default

Originally Posted by 117becca View Post
If I can make strip sets, I do.....I think it helps make more accurate blocks (and it sure is a heck of a lot faster to put together!!)
Totally agree! Plus, the more cuts, the more sewing of small pieces, the more chance for mistakes...at least for me.
coopah is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Barb_MO
Main
16
04-25-2010 05:14 PM
Joan in AK
Main
7
02-09-2010 01:17 PM
sondray
Links and Resources
5
11-19-2008 11:53 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter