Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Suggestions for sewing/embroidery machine >

Suggestions for sewing/embroidery machine

Suggestions for sewing/embroidery machine

Old 08-06-2010, 04:35 AM

Hi everyone - I am "tentatively" considering a new or 2 new machines. I am a beginner quilter - less than 1 year and love it.

I have a reconditioned Brother CE 5000PRW which so far as met my needs although I have found through use a number of features that I would love to have but don't! Especially "up and down" needle position.

Now - I have an approx. $700-$1000 budget. Want both quilting and embroidery capabilites.

Do I look for one machine that does both or get 2 different machines. Want a larger than 4 X 4 embroidery design and USB capabilites.

Am I dreaming or is there a dream machine out there for me???

Cindy
Old 08-06-2010, 04:44 AM

if you only getone machine that does both,keep your old one to sew on while the new one is embr. dar
Old 08-06-2010, 04:48 AM

You will not find a machine with a 5x7 hoop and sewing capabilities in that price range I'm sorry to say - unless you find an older machine (which might not have the features that you want - and yeah, that needle up down is sweet!)

In the under $1000 category with a 5x7 hoop (you won't get a larger hoop than that unless you almost triple the cost) is the Brother and the Janome 350e - the 350e is iffy on the cost though. It's more expensive than the Brother but if you have a dealer near by you might be able to do some dealing there.

I would suggest getting two machines - one for sewing and one for embroider. Having the combo units are nice for space however just sitting, watching an embroidery machine stitch out gets old quickly.. You will probably want to double duty and sew at the same time ;)
Old 08-06-2010, 05:29 AM

Originally Posted by Yarn or Fabric