Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Tee Shirt Quilt...I don't get it!

I want to make one of these and I have my supplies and shirts ready to go but I don't get how to make all the squares the same size. The designs on the shirts are different sizes so I'm stuck. Do I cut the designs out in a square then fuse the interfacing on? The designs won't be centered and some are too big or too small to be the same size.

What am I missing here??

I'm no expert, but I pick a size block that will work best for most of the tshirt designs. Then I fuse the interfacing on the back and cut the blocks all standard size. Some have more plain t'shirt material around the design that the others, but there is always plenty of fabric to make the blocks all the same size.

That was quick, Cowpie! Thank you so much...that definitely helps.

Blog Entries
    I'm in to process of making a t-shirt quilt using all different sized shirts and designs. I cut out the design, ironed on interfacing and trimed to fit the design. Then I cut & sewed sashing on the sides measuring to make them all 18 inches blocks. The sashing is all different sizes to fit the t-shirt designs. So far it's not looking too bad. It's kind of a pain to make eash sashing different sizes. I did them one at a time to avoid being confused, but it worked.

Blog Entries
    I did mine the same way as cowpie. You can see mine under my topics(click LIST) if you click on my name (in blue) above my avatar picture. Not all of my blocks were the same size & that did cause me problems with the sashing, so it's MUCH better to make the blocks all the same size.