Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Testing a block >

Testing a block

Testing a block

Old 09-18-2011, 01:22 PM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Buckeye Rose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Monroe, IN
Posts: 2,283
Default

I have just received a request (paying request!) to make a quilt. There is no pattern available and am trying to make one from a pic. I have drawn up the pattern, figured the measurements 3 times....seriously taxing my brain.....and come up with the necessary yardage. I want to make a test block. Have you ever tried to copy a pic with no pattern? What tips can you give me?
Buckeye Rose is offline  
Old 09-18-2011, 01:29 PM
  #2  
Super Member
 
leatheflea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: martinsville Indiana
Posts: 4,461
Default

Yep I have, I finally bought Eq6.
leatheflea is offline  
Old 09-18-2011, 01:31 PM
  #3  
Super Member
 
valleyquiltermo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: MO.
Posts: 2,681
Default

Originally Posted by leatheflea
Yep I have, I finally bought Eq6.
Ditto :thumbup:
valleyquiltermo is offline  
Old 09-18-2011, 01:43 PM
  #4  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: California
Posts: 14,566
Default

I use grid paper. Try to draw the picture over the squares. Marked the squares into a block. Hope that makes sense to you. What is the picture? Gook Luck. Keep us posted. BrendaK
BrendaK is offline  
Old 09-18-2011, 01:46 PM
  #5  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Buckeye Rose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Monroe, IN
Posts: 2,283
Default

Originally Posted by BrendaK
I use grid paper. Try to draw the picture over the squares. Marked the squares into a block. Hope that makes sense to you. What is the picture? Gook Luck. Keep us posted. BrendaK

Will be making this one

http://www.quiltingboard.com/t-133114-1.htm

need to make it queen size, so will make 15" blocks
Buckeye Rose is offline  
Old 09-18-2011, 02:03 PM
  #6  
MTS
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,134
Default

Originally Posted by leatheflea
Yep I have, I finally bought Eq6.
LOL :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Sorry, but that was very, very funny.

Double check your math. And then check it again.
MTS is offline  
Old 09-18-2011, 02:12 PM
  #7  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Upper Michigan
Posts: 8,248
Default

Use graph paper
Painiacs is offline  
Old 09-18-2011, 02:19 PM
  #8  
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Enid, OK
Posts: 8,273
Default

EQ...it is the ONLY way to go! Also make sure you are not trying to reproduce a pattern that has a copyright!
jaciqltznok is offline  
Old 09-18-2011, 02:24 PM
  #9  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 19,131
Default

Originally Posted by leatheflea
Yep I have, I finally bought Eq6.
DITTO again, I have EQ5...... It makes life so easier especially when you have a pattern for a 6" block such as Churn Dash but then you need to make the block 2" larger. Makes designing so simple once you get the handle of where everything is located. :lol:
ManiacQuilter2 is offline  
Old 09-18-2011, 02:33 PM
  #10  
Junior Member
 
DebLuvsQuiltng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 163
Default

I use Microsoft Excel. I format the rows to be a row height of 14.5 and column width 2. This way I can fill in the squares with color but easily move them around if and when needed. I also type the scale above the cells to easily calculate blocks or pieces needed to make a certain width.
DebLuvsQuiltng is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
mzzzquilts
General Chit-Chat (non-quilting talk)
18
10-27-2011 08:56 AM
Izaquilter
Pictures
22
03-09-2011 06:11 PM
tweety
Pictures
26
06-16-2009 07:39 AM
sajackson
Pictures
49
06-09-2009 07:26 PM
JANW
Pictures
2
08-04-2008 03:36 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.