Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Thread

Do you all like the Coats Dual Duty XP? I'm new to sewing (about a year) and new to quilting. I was taught that Coats is "slubby" and actually have magnified photos of the difference in threads. At the time, I don't think Coats XP was available.

Blog Entries
    I use Coats Dual Duty and Connecting threads cotton thread.

Blog Entries
    I would like to know if you would use CT cotton threads on your Bernina? :P

I have a Janome, but I was taught, and saw the difference in threads, and use Gutterman or Mettler thread. The "slubby" thread can mess with tension disks and breaks a lot, etc. I "do" the Joanne's, thing and often could use a coupon to buy Coats, so I'm wondering if anyone has any issues with it.

btw the Coats Dual Duty XP is described as poly wrapped polyester thread, so would a person use that in quilting, which is usually cotton?

Power Poster sueisallaboutquilts's Avatar
    I never buy Coats anymore. I use Gutermann and the others in that price range. The cost is worth it.

I use Coats Cotton thread. I've bought Guttermann before and I had the worst time with it. It kept breaking for some reason. Maybe just a bad batch.

Senior Member CompulsiveQuilter's Avatar
    I have always had good luck with C&C Dual Duty. Until I joined this board I didn't know that it was slubby! The cotton Mettler was not good for me. When I'm out of all the neutral C&C I have, I'll buy the Sew Fine, etc. threads that everybody here swears by.

Well, it's good to know Coats is good, it is much less expensive.

I use CT thread with both of my Berninas and have never had a problem with it.

Quote Originally Posted by sewmuchmore
    I would like to know if you would use CT cotton threads on your Bernina? :P