Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Thread?????

okay just wondering, when piecing, do you match your thread to your fabric? I haven't been, then I noticed sewing with darker fabric the thread really shows up, but it is on the backside.....

I just am used to sewing clothing and different things where I always matched my thread...now I thought maybe that wasn't important.

bj
    I mostly piece with an ecru color. If most of the fabric in the blocks is dark (which isn't often) I use a gray.

Seems like most of mine is done with gray.

Banned
    I use white thread a lot. I like scrappy quilts though I'm a rank beginner :roll:

I use white, Ecru, Mother Goose, and Black....40 wt. Signature thread

I use mostly Ecru on lights and grey on darks. Unless there are a lot of white fabs then I will use white for piecing.

I used, Ecru,white or very light gray.

I was surpised at how many people used gray and hadn't tried it until this topic popped up a bit ago....I'd always used a beige/off white/taupe because that's what I learned on and it does make a difference. I'll still use up what I've got on hand but have added gray to a couple tiny projects and I'm LOVIN it.

Nancee

I use mainly Gutermann 618 (light grey) thread. Used white too when piecing whites together.

Tisha

Blog Entries
    Like the others, I use ecru, white or grey.

I try to match as close as possible, but tan and gray work good too.

Thanks everyone. That is very helpful information. I'm going to have to try the gray....

I try to match, but use gray alot it hides very well

I've been matching my thread to my fabric, never thought to use grey or ecru. Thanks ladies you just saved me some money!
    Renee

Power Poster
    Another color that really blends in well with mediums to darks is called