Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: to tie or not to tie

As I mentioned I am just learning to quilt. I am making several baby quilts and my “teacher” suggests I tie them instead of hand quilting to save time. Do people still tie quilts? (The reason I want to save time is I want to try and get a king size one done for my granddaughters wedding in October and the babies are due around the same time.)

Blog Entries
    Oh yes! Tying is a great way to finish a quilt. It is a very relaxing thing to do also. You can also pick the tying spots, and tack the layers together with your sewing machine -- just a zig zag stitch on a zero stitch length.

Blog Entries
    Yep toeing fine. U can use emb stitches to tie also, use emb thread to tie also.

Blog Entries
    the only thing to think about with tieing your quilt is choosing a batting that is good for tied quilts-
    warm & natural is a good choice many packages say 'good for tied quilts'
    the ones that recommend fairly dense quilting (like quilt every 2"-4") are not good choices- the batting will pull apart and ball up after a few washes- but batts with scrim- that can be quilted every 10" (like w & n) are good choices.

Just in the past few days, I saw a few quilts tied with what looked like thin ribbon. I thought perhaps the ribbon was zigzag stitched down and then tied in a bowtie. Very cute.

There are some posts about what to tie with when doing a baby quilt for safety reasons...

Sure I have tied many quilts. Still do.

Blog Entries
    Alot of times; depending on the quilt I tie and do the stitch in the ditch. With tying you can chose what to tie it with; thin ribbon, etc. I like to use varigated embroidery thread that is in the same color category as the quilt. It just gives it something extra.