Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Traditional 3 layer quilts vs Summer Quilts

Blog Entries

Traditional 3 layer quilts vs Summer Quilts

I have been quilting now for about 5 1/2 years and I am finding that my tastes are changing. Don't get me wrong I really love making quilts with three layers. However, I am finding that I am really liking making Summer Quilts with just the quilt top and a nice flannel backing. Now, if I do a quilt for a gift I will be doing Traditional. But for just quilts that I have laying around the house, I am liking Summer quilts. I think Summer Quilts for children would be good because of the fact they can bunch them up and drag them around and not be so heavy. I did ask some friends on my Facebook and it was pretty much either way is good. lol My mom said she actually preferred Summer quilts as well.

What say my Quilting Board friends, Traditional 3 layer quilts or Summer Quilts? I know it is all personal preferences, but I am just curious how many others out there prefer doing Summer Quilts over Traditional quilts...

Wendys Quilts
    Wendy
    http://wendyspatchworks.blogspot.com/

Personally, I prefer doing traditional ones. Around here it is usually a cooler climate. Though having a summer quilt or two, wouldn't hurt. Both choices are great~~
    Be a blessing to others, as you may entertain angels unaware!

I haven't tried a summer quilt yet, but I can see where it would be nice to have one. Will have to do it.
    God Bless Quilters and Sewers
    Marti

Power Poster
    Traditional quilts have 3 layers and I still do most of my quilts this way. I have done a couple of blankets with a pieced top and fleece on the back with no batt.

I haven't tried one yet, but it really would be nice to have.