Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Triangle rulers any sugestions >

Triangle rulers any sugestions

Triangle rulers any sugestions

Old 04-22-2011, 04:06 AM

I am looking to buy a triange ruler, I have been browsing the web and I found all kinds. Which brand or kind do you recomend? I want to try some of the patterns out there. Since I am new to quilting I am lost as to which ones to invest in.
Thanks

Cookie

PS I love this board I have been watching for a couple of months now and have learned so much.
Old 04-22-2011, 04:44 AM
k3n
Power Poster

It depends what you want it for. I have the Marti Mitchell kaleidoscope rulers in two sizes which are right angle triangles and help you calculate and cut segments and corner triangles for octagon blocks and I have the Clearview 6" ruler for cutting equilateral triangles (ie 60 degrees) for making the hexagon blocks required for One Block Wonders. You could also use this to cut the triangles for 1000 pyramids..
Old 04-22-2011, 04:44 AM

Kinda hard to say which ruler if you don't have a particular project in mind. Can't say that I actually have knowledge of a "general" triangle ruler. Maybe someone else will come along with more knowledge.
Old 04-22-2011, 04:47 AM

What ruler did you use for your avatar quilt ? I am going to do a OBW class next month . I need to get a ruler ordered asap !
Old 04-22-2011, 04:56 AM
k3n
Power Poster

Originally Posted by kimscruzer
What ruler did you use for your avatar quilt ? I am going to do a OBW class next month . I need to get a ruler ordered asap !
My avatar was made using the Block Bender technique by Margaret Miller. I cut several different templates from template plastic and each piece is individually cut as they include both half square and half rectangle triangles of various dimensions. I posted it here http://www.quiltingboard.com/t-106755-1.htm :-D
Old 04-22-2011, 04:59 AM