Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Troubleshooting help? >

Troubleshooting help?

Troubleshooting help?

Old 07-12-2022, 04:09 PM

Default Troubleshooting help?

I'm hoping ya'll might have some ideas for me..I'm FMQ on my Pfaff Expression 720. It's newish to me (about 2ish years), and I'm still learning to work out the kinks.

When I'm FMQ, I'll be able to sail a long for a bit with decent tension and stitches and then suddenly it stops picking up the bobbin, skips stitches and after about 3-4 dozen more stitches, the thread breaks. (See the circled areas in picture)

I've tried changing the needle, different threads, new bobbins, I can't figure what gives.

I am using the Sensormatic free-motion option.

I thought the problem was needing service, so I took it in, but that hasn't helped. I've tried to explain it to the dealer, but it doesn't seem to do it when I'm there...(like when your car doesn't make the same noise at the mechanic's)

Thanks in advance for any help.

Meladie
Attached Thumbnails img_0416.jpg  
Old 07-13-2022, 04:55 AM

When I was having similar problems it turned out that my bobbin case was out of round.
Old 07-13-2022, 05:08 AM

I've found that using a polyester thread is better for FMQ than cotton thread. Poly has a little stretch to it that makes a big difference. A Top-stitch needle is also helpful. It has a longer, smoother eye that gives the hook more opportunity to catch the thread off the back of the needle.

There's a timing setting that some techs ignore. It's the needle/hook distance. If there's a big space between the needle and the hook, it helps to close that space. There should only be the thickness of a thread between the needle and hook.
Old 07-13-2022, 05:28 AM
Power Poster